About the Commissioners

Date Established: The Hawaii State Ethics Commission was established in January 1968.

Appointment of Commissioners: The Commission has five members who must be selected in a manner which assures their independence and impartiality in accordance with Article XIV of the Hawaii State Constitution. The Judicial Council nominates two individuals for each vacancy on the Commission. The nominees’ names are sent to the Governor, who selects one of the nominees for appointment. Senate confirmation of appointees is not required.

Term of Office: A commissioner’s term of office is four years. No person may be appointed consecutively to more than two terms on the Commission.

Qualifications/Restrictions: A commissioner must be a U.S. citizen and a resident of Hawaii. Commissioners may not hold any other public office. Commissioners may not take an active part in political management or in political campaigns during their terms of office.

No Compensation: Commissioners serve without compensation but are allowed their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance their duties.




Ruth D. Tschumy,

Ruth D. Tschumy is a retired educator, administrator, author, and consultant. She previously served as Chair of the State of Hawaii Charter School Review Panel. She has served on numerous non-profit boards, including the Board of Directors of the Hawaii Association of Independent Schools. Ms. Tschumy is also a volunteer mediator and Emeritus Director of the Mediation Center of the Pacific. She holds a B.A. degree from Oberlin College and a M.A. degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and was the recipient of the Klingenstein Fellowship at Columbia University.

Ms. Tschumy’s term on the Commission ends on June 30, 2021.




Melinda Wood, Vice Chair

Melinda Wood is a retired Grants Development Specialist for the East-West Center. She previously worked as Assistant to the Chancellor and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of Hawaii – West Oahu, and as an Immigration Specialist at the Research Corporation of the University of Hawaii. Ms. Wood is a former president and board member of Planned Parenthood of Hawaii and her community activities include serving as a volunteer “baby cuddler” at Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children. She holds B.A. and M.A. degrees in English from Colorado State University; a M.S.S. degree in Applied Communication from the University of Denver; and a Ph.D. in Educational Administration from the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

Ms. Wood’s term on the Commission ends on June 30, 2022.



Reynaldo D. Graulty

Reynard D. Graulty

Reynard D. Graulty is an attorney with a long and distinguished public service career in all three branches of state government: He served as a Representative and Senator in the State Legislature; as State Insurance Commissioner; and as a State Circuit Court Judge. He was also an Adjunct Professor of ethics at Chaminade University. Mr. Graulty holds a B.A. degree from State University of New York at Albany, where he graduated magna cum laude, and a J.D. degree from the William S. Richardson School of Law at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Mr. Graulty is a past recipient of the Outstanding Alumnus Award, Class of ’79, William S. Richardson School of Law.

Mr. Graulty’s term on the Commission ends on June 30, 2023.




Wesley F. Fong

Wesley F. Fong is an attorney and an adjunct professor teaching law and ethics at the University of Hawaii. Previously, he was a Staff Counsel for Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company; a Supervising Deputy Attorney General for the State of Hawaii; and a Senior Deputy Corporation Counsel for the City and County of Honolulu. Mr. Fong is a graduate of the University of Illinois School of Law and the University of Hawaii. A Vietnam veteran, he retired as a Colonel, U.S Army and his military awards include the Legion of Merit and two Bronze Star Medals. He is the Chair of his Neighborhood Board and served as a Commissioner on several City Commissions and President of many community organizations. He is also the recipient of the national Jefferson Award for Public Service and the Distinguished University of Hawaii Alumni Award.

Mr. Fong’s term on the Commission ends on June 30, 2022.