

State of Hawaii • Bishop Square, 1001 Bishop Street, ASB Tower 970 • Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

DISCLOSURE OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS BY STATE EMPLOYEES AND MEMBERS OF STATE BOARDS & COMMISSIONS

The State Ethics Code requires certain state employees and state board and commission members to file an annual Disclosure of Financial Interests with the Hawaii State Ethics Commission ("Commission").¹ The following is a brief overview of the filing procedures and requirements.

WHERE TO OBTAIN FORMS

The Disclosure of Financial Interests form and instructions are available on the Commission's website at http://ethics.hawaii.gov/, or may be obtained by calling the Commission's office at (808) 587-0460.

WHEN DO I FILE?

New Filers: Within 30 days of being elected or appointed to your state

position.

<u>Continuing Filers</u>: Between January 1st and May 31st of each year.

Exiting Filers: If your term has ended or you are terminating your state

employment, you must file an exit disclosure statement within 30 days of leaving your state position if your most recent financial disclosure statement was filed more than 180 days

prior to your last day of state service.²

WHICH FORM DO I USE?

New Filers: New filers are required to file a "long form" financial disclosure

statement (Form D-201).

Continuing Filers: In even-numbered years (i.e., 2014, 2016, etc.), filers are

required to file the "long form" financial disclosure statement

(Form D-201).

¹ Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") § 84-17(c)(list of state officials and employees who are required to file an annual financial disclosure statement). Please contact the Commission's office to confirm whether you are required to file a disclosure statement.

² If you are a current filer and will be leaving your state position, contact the Commission's office to find out whether you are required to file an exit disclosure statement.

In odd-numbered years (i.e., 2015, 2017, etc.), individuals who filed a long form the prior year may use a "short form" financial disclosure statement (Form D-103A) to update their information and to report any changes to their financial interests. However, if you have more than 10 changes to report, you must submit a new long form.

HOW TO FILE

Electronic filing: File electronically via the Commission's website at

http://ethics.hawaii.gov/.

<u>U.S. Mail or Email</u>: Mail your disclosure statement to the Hawaii State Ethics

Commission, 1001 Bishop Street, American Savings Bank Tower, Suite 970, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, or email it to

ethics@hawaiiethics.org.

<u>In Person</u>: File your disclosure statement at the Commission's office:

1001 Bishop Street, American Savings Bank Tower,

Suite 970, Honolulu, Hawaii

Office hours: Monday – Friday, 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Save a copy of your completed disclosure statement for your records. If you file via the electronic filing system, you will receive an automatic email confirmation and a summary of the reported information. If you do not receive this confirmation or experience other difficulties with the electronic filing system, please contact the Commission immediately for assistance as your filing may not have been completed.

EXTENSION OF TIME TO FILE

Filers may submit a written request for an extension of time to file their financial disclosure statement. The Commission may grant a fifteen (15) day extension for good cause shown.

PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO FILE

Failure to file a financial disclosure statement constitutes a violation of the State Ethics Code. Pursuant to HRS § 84-17, the Commission may assess administrative fines and other penalties against any person who fails to timely file a disclosure statement. The Commission also may post on its website for public inspection a list of all persons who have failed to file financial disclosure statements.³

For more information or assistance in completing your financial disclosure statement, please contact the Commission's office at (808) 587-0460, or ethics@hawaiiethics.org.

July 2017	
3 HRS § 8	34-17(i).