

### DISCLOSURE OF FINANCIAL INTERESTS BY STATE LEGISLATORS

The State Ethics Code requires state legislators to file an annual Disclosure of Financial Interests with the Hawaii State Ethics Commission ("Commission").<sup>1</sup> The following is a brief overview of the filing procedures and requirements.

### WHERE TO OBTAIN FORMS

The Disclosure of Financial Interests form and instructions are available on the Commission's website at <u>http://ethics.hawaii.gov/</u>, or may be obtained by calling the Commission's office at (808) 587-0460.

#### WHEN DO I FILE?

Between January 1st and January 31st of each year.

If your term of office has ended or you are resigning from your legislative office, you must file an exit disclosure statement within 30 days of leaving your state position if your most recent financial disclosure statement was filed more than 180 days prior to your last day of state service.

### WHICH FORM DO I USE?

New Legislators:	All newly-elected legislators must file a "long form" financial disclosure statement (Form D-201).
Continuing members:	In even-numbered years (i.e., 2014, 2016, etc.), legislators are required to file a "long form" financial disclosure statement (Form D-201).
	In odd-numbered years (i.e., 2015, 2017, etc.), legislators who filed a long form the prior year may use a "short form" financial disclosure form (Form D-103A) to update their information and to report any changes to their financial interests. However, if you have more than 10 changes to report, you must submit a new long form.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Hawaii Revised Statutes ("HRS") § 84-17(c).

## HOW TO FILE

Electronic filing:	File electronically via the Commission's website at <a href="http://ethics.hawaii.gov/">http://ethics.hawaii.gov/</a> .
<u>U.S. Mail or Email</u> :	Mail your disclosure statement to the Hawaii State Ethics Commission, 1001 Bishop Street, American Savings Bank Tower, Suite 970, Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, or email it to <u>ethics@hawaiiethics.org</u> .
<u>In Person</u> :	File your disclosure statement at the Commission's office: 1001 Bishop Street, American Savings Bank Tower, Suite 970, Honolulu, Hawaii Office hours: Monday – Friday, 7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Save a copy of your completed disclosure statement for your records. If you file via the electronic filing system, you will receive an automatic email confirmation and a summary of the reported information. If you do not receive this confirmation or experience other difficulties with the electronic filing system, please contact the Commission immediately for assistance as your filing may not have been completed.

# PENALTY FOR FAILURE TO FILE

Failure to file a financial disclosure statement constitutes a violation of the State Ethics Code. Pursuant to HRS § 84-17, the Commission may assess administrative fines and other penalties against any person who fails to timely file a disclosure statement. The Commission also may post on its website for public inspection a list of all persons who have failed to file financial disclosure statements.<sup>2</sup>

For more information or assistance in completing your financial disclosure statement, please contact the Commission's office at (808) 587-0460, or <u>ethics@hawaiiethics.org</u>.

July 2017

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> HRS § 84-17(i).